The Code of Virginia § 46.2-716 states that:
“No person shall use or allow the use of an automobile, semitrailer or trailer leased or owned to be driven on a highway until and unless”
- The vehicle has been registered,
- A certificate of title has been issued, and
- The vehicle’s license plate shows the present registration period or exemptions stated in Article 5 and Article 6 which the Virginian Department of Motor Vehicles has deemed compulsory
What Are the Requirement to Get Your Vehicle Registered In the State Of Virginia
After you have purchased an automobile, you have 30 days to meet the all the applicable requirements as per the Virginian law. You need to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of Virginia and get your registration process complete. Anyone is found in violation of the state law will face difficulty in obtaining their motor vehicle registration. Not only that, they will also have to deal with the traffic and DMV charges.
Until and unless you have registered your car at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of Virginia, you will not be allowed to drive that motor vehicle on the highway or on any road of the state of Virginia. To get your automobile registered, head over to your local Virginia DMV office. You will be required to submit
- Ownership documents,
- proof of your residency and identity,
- inspection certificate,
- proof of insurance (must be greater or equal to25/50/20)
- payment slips of the registration fee
Virginian Driver Caught Driving Without Registration
If a Virginian driver is caught driving without registering their automobile, they will be held accountable for Class 1 misdemeanor, the most severe of all class.
A driver will have to face the following penalty of
- 12 months’ time in prison
- $2,500 payment as fine
- Increased time period of license suspension
- Confiscation of the motor vehicle by the state
- Within the time frame of 10 years, if convicted for the third time, the driver will face the consequences of Class 1 and 2 misdemeanors.
How Can Your Virginia Driving Without Registration Lawyer Help You
The state of Virginia’s Commonwealth is very strict on their Virginian drivers to obey and follow all the traffic laws that are clearly stated by the law. Anyone found breaking the law, the relevant authorities will suspend that individual’s driving license.
The prosecuting attorney has to provide evidence before the driver is sentenced for being guilty of driving on a suspended license. The attorney must prove that:
- The license was suspended,
- A notice of the license being suspended was given to the driver when the license was already suspended, the driver was caught driving without registration.
This is where your Virginian driving without registration lawyer will help you
The penalty charged for driving without registration can be severe for any individual to handle themselves. Not only that, it can be extremely stressful and inconvenient to make trips to the Virginian court. Your Virginian lawyer is familiar with the entire trial process. Hire an experienced and skilled traffic law attorney to help you defend and win your case.